top of page

Becoming 30: Barcelona

Oh Spain, you did not disappoint me. Beautiful as can be. The trip started off with me flying from JFK to Madrid. I had a one hour layover in Madrid but I got a chance to peak through the airport. But before I knew it, it was off to Barcelona.

Once I landed in Barcelona, it was off to the hotel. Getting from the airport to the hotel was fairly easy. Take the Aerobus $6 to public subway (2 stops) and boom you're there. At least that route worked for me. My hotel of choice "Catalonia Sagrada Famila" for 3 nights. The hotel is located in a pretty cool area, one stop away from Segrada Famila and a lot of bakeries nearby to try.

Dinning in Barcelona:

*Lunch at: The Ranch Smokehouse (honestly, I'm guilty--its American) a BBQ burger spot to be exact. But I was craving a burger and it totally hit the spot.

*Dinner at: Tobogan Placa Reial Restaurant -- OK so I ate Italian here, lasagna to be exact. No frills just regular lasagna but fairly cheap dinner.

*TRY PAELLA!!!-- its a must when visiting Barcelona that you try their traditional meal. It took my sister and I till the last day in Spain to actually try it. I wanted to try lobster paella but we ended up sharing chicken and sausage. The rice was amazing, the chicken I didn't like and the sausage was just OK, I can't remember the name of the restaurant but it was outside in the La Rambla area, which is a must see area to hit when you're in town. Be mindful in Barcelona, meat is cooked fresh! Which is a good thing to me, but the taste may be off putting for some. You can get a glimpse of our paella in the gallery below.

Exploring Barcelona + Shopping

Of course I had to do the normal tourist stuff. I went to visit Antoni Gaudi's house Museum, Park Guell, Sagrada Famila, and various places near La Rambla.

Shopping:

FYI: Els Encants Flea Market- is for food not clothing! Its a market for fresh meats, seafood and sweets. I was disappointed because I was ready to shop.

* Porta Del Angel, Passeig de Gracia and Diagonal Mar are good places to shop for some familiar stores as well as new and exciting bargain stores.

I didn't get to go to Barcelonta Beach like I had planned on my itinerary but its on my to do list when i return back.

Birthday Dinner

Found this cute & chic outfit from New York & Company back home in Tampa, paired with some Jimmy Choo black heels and my new favorite YSL earrings. Although I got super glam for my 30th birthday dinner I actually did something really calm and relaxed. I dined at Restaurant Nuria in the El Triangle are of Barcelona. At this point I was exhausted and didn't want to eat somewhere so far off because I had an early flight top Paris the next morning.

In summary, Barcelona is very beautiful and very hot. The Spanish people were nice and I got to practice speaking Spanish throughout the trip. I didn't get to experience the nightlife scene but my sister and I did get lost in an area we are pretty sure was the hood. lol So all in all I would recommend anyone to travel and experience the culture. I think a 3day trip will suffice, I spent about $150 because everything is usually cheap euro. But next time I hit Spain I'm definitely going to Ibiza.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page